The Official Website of the Sunline Speedway, Waikerie


Action Aplenty at Sunline

Posted on May 15, 2016 at 7:15 AM

Sunline Speedway held its last night meeting of the season on Saturday for the 2015/16 season and with over 60 cars in attendance, proved to be a great night at the skids.

The final round of the J. D. Couriers Super Series, sponsored by Scotcher Race Fuels and Oils, for Super Sedans was a highlight of the night and failed to disappoint. The first heat saw Michael Miller break the existing 10 lap track record by a whopping 20 seconds! The 2nd heat was just as quick with Ryan Alexander only half a second slower over the 10 laps.

The feature looked like being a 2 man race between Alexander and Miller and was going to script early on. Then around mid race, Alexander pulled infield with a trail of oil following him and was out. Miller went on to win the feature by half a lap from Paul Blenkiron, followed by Graham Stewart, Kym Hamerstein, Kym Jury and Steve Schwarz.


Modlites returned to the venue after their State Title at the last meeting with new driver Todd Bennett joining their ranks, whilst Ty Forrestal jumped aboard the Graham Knuckey machine for the night. After the heats, recently crowned State champion Cory Hodgson was top points man and looked to be the man to beat in the feature.

After starting near the rear, Hodgson had his way up to 2nd with only 2 laps to go and was easily the quickest car on the track. However, it all came unstuck when he tried to pass leader Andy Maxwell Jnr into turn 1, went in too hot and spun out, getting sent to the rear. Maxwell Jnr was able to hold his lead over the final laps to claim the win ahead of Forrestal, Scott Webb, Duran Cowland and Brian Chadwick, rounding out the top 5.


Junior Sedans contested Round 4 of the Robert Gwynne Memorial Track Championship and all eyes were on the Thorne brothers and if anyone could finally beat them. During the heat races, Lachlan Gwynne looked like the driver most likely to do this as showed great speed and would start the feature in third, behind Heath and Nathan Thorne.

For the first few laps of the 12 lap feature it was a 3 way race for the lead until the caught traffic and the Thornes were able to negotiate this a bit easier and started to pull away. In the end, only 3 of the 10 starters finished on the lead lap with Heath taking the win from Nathan, Gwynne claimed third ahead of Tom Richter and Paige Goldsack-Gwynne.

Going into the final round of the Track Championship, it’s a race between the Thornes with only 48 points separating Heath and Nathan whilst Gwynne looks comfortable in third position.


The Jack Daniels AMCA Spectacular continues to be popular with drivers with 12 drivers racing for the glory. After the 3 heat races had been completed, Wayne Vickers and Steve Letts looked the like the ones to watch, but the field was very close and with a 20 lap feature ahead of them, anything was possible.

What unfolded next was quite a bizarre and interesting race. After Letts spun early on and the field was under yellows, Vickers was forced to retire with the flat left rear tyre. Then under the same caution period, Ben Aworth had his right rear tyre part ways with his car. Once racing finally resumed, it was Jeremy Moore who emerged victorious ahead of Darren McCarthy, Leanne Turner, Letts and Marcus Rigney.


Wingless Sprints, sponsored by Chris Evans Transport, continue to field big car counts and display great racing at Sunline. Heat races were close al; night with Michael Spoljaric claiming top points to start the feature from the front.

Spoljaric looked to have the feature under control until just after mid race distance. Dan Evans made a bold pass around the outside of turn 1 and Spoljaric lost control and spun to a stop without a collision. From the restart, Evans maintained a cool head to win comfortably from Brett Ireland, Jason Gantz, Joel Chadwick and Darryl Sloan.


As usual the Street Stocks put some bash and crash into the event with plenty of panels rubbed and words exchanged. Rhys Heinrich, as he has shown over the last few years, is at the top of the game and claimed wins in both of his heat races.

The red lights were on early in the feature after several cars got together on the opening lap on the back straight. Andy Maxwell Jnr ended up being turned sideways before riding the wall for several meters. Thankfully the car returned to the track and the driver emerged uninjured. Several incidents littered the race but throughout Heinrich was always comfortable out front and claimed an easy win. Second was Haydon Jolly followed by Buck Haynes, Travis Skinner and Jamie Stewart.


The final meeting at Sunline Speedway for the 2015/16 season will be on Sunday 12th of June for the traditional June long weekend day meeting. This meeting will have gates opening at 10am with racing from 12 noon. Junior Sedans will conclude the Robert Gwynne Memorial Track Championship and Street Stocks will contest the Steve Butcher Memorial. Supporting them will be Wingless Sprints (Sponsored by Evans Transport), AMCA’s, Super Sedans, Modlites, V6 Sprints and Modified Sedans. For anyone that wishes to help out with support, sponsorship or any other form of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact Rob Stevens on 0412 474 289.


Categories: None